Awards and Honors

Honors and Awards:

NSF Graduate Fellowship, 1963-66

Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow, 1970-74

J. J. Sakurai Prize of the American Physical Society, 1986

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship Prize, 1987

Dirac Medal, International Center for Theoretical Physics, 1988

Oscar Klein Medal, Royal Swedish Academy, 2000

Harvey Prize, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, 2000

High Energy and Particle Physics Prize, European Physical Society, 2003

Grande Médaille D’or de l’Académie des Science, France, 2004 

Nobel Prize in Physics, 2004

Recipient Golden Plate Award, Academy of Achievement, 2005

San Carlos Boromero Award, University of San Carlos, Philippines, 2008

Richard E. Prange Prize , University of Maryland, 2013

Medal of Honor of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Dubna, Russia 2016


Honorary Doctorates and Professorships:

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, University of Montpellier, 2000

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, Hebrew University, Jerusalem, 2001

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, Sao Paulo University, Brazil, 2006

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, Ohio State University, 2007

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, University of the Philippines, Manila, 2008

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, De La Salle University, Manila, 2008

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, University of Cambridge, England, 2008

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, 2008

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, University of Cambodia, 2010

Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa, Université Libre de Bruxelles, 2010

Einstein Professor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2005

Honorary Professor, Zhejiang University, 2005

Honorary Professor, Xieman University, 2006

Honorary Professor, Xian University, 2006

Honorary Professor, ESPOL University, Ecuador, 2006

Honorary Professor, Langzhou University, 2007

Honorary Professor, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China, 2010

Honorary Professor, Xian Jiao Tong University, China, 2012

Honorary Professor, Huaqiao University, Xiamen, China, 2012

Honorary Director,   Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics/CAS, Beijing, China, 2006-

Solvay Centenary Chair, Solvay Institute, Brussels, 2011

Lee Kong Chian Distinguished Professor, Institute for Advanced Study, Singapore, 2013

Lorentz Professor, Leiden University, Netherlands, 2014

Honorary Doctoral Degree, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2016