Collider Physics

Coordinators: Zvi Bern, Joey Huston, Zoltan Kunszt, Kirill Melnikov

This week long conference will help launch a three month collider physics workshop, whose primary purpose will be to bring the latest theoretical developments to bear on problems of direct interest for interpreting data at collider experiments. Our community anticipates that exciting new discoveries in our understanding of particle physics is within reach of the ongoing experimental program. In order to realize this potential, a close collaboration of physicists working in various subfields of high-energy physics - experiment, QCD theory, electroweak theory and physics beyond the Standard Model - is necessary. In many scenarios, in order to recognize and understand new processes, one needs a detailed understanding of Standard Model backgrounds.

The invited speakers at the conference have been charged with setting the tone for the workshop. We look forward to hearing the latest important experimental results from Fermilab and HERA, as well as reports on the progress at the LHC. Recent theoretical developments and promising directions will also be discussed. Each speaker is being requested to focus on the big picture\' issues as well as to present a list of important open problems that he or she would like to see addressed at the workshop. An important aspect of this conference is for members of the experimental community to underscore problems of direct importance to their programs where theorists can help. The conference will be low density\' with a relatively small number of talks each day to have time for lively discussions.

List of Speakers:
  • Guido Altarelli
  • Nima Arkani-Hamed
  • S. Bethke
  • John Campbell
  • Marcela Carena
  • Guenther Dissertori
  • Lance Dixon
  • Stefano Frixione
  • Thomas Gehrmann
  • Ian Hinchliffe
  • Joey Huston
  • Bill Kilgore
  • David Kosower
  • Peter Lepage
  • Joe Lykken
  • Michaelangelo Mangano
  • Bill Marciano
  • Sven Moch
  • Michael Peskin
  • George Sterman
  • James Stirling
  • Harry Weerts
  • Mike Witherell
  • Guenter Wolf
  • Weiming Yao
LoopFest III information