3rd EPiQS-TMS alliance workshop on Topological Phenomena in Quantum Materials (TPQM2019)

Coordinators: James Analytis, Leon Balents, Cenke Xu; Japanese Organizers: Satoshi Fujimoto, Norio Kawakami, Yoshiteru Maeno, Yuki Shiomi

Topological materials science has created a new paradigm within which to classify and understand condensed states of matter. Topology arises in understanding molecular interactions, protected interface states in insulators, defects in solids, and edge states in low-dimensional systems. The discoveries of Weyl and Dirac materials and topological insulators have revealed the ubiquity of topology in solid state systems, but now the focus is on understanding more exotic states of matter. How do we engineer materials that harbor topological superconductivity? Can we tune topological spin textures by coupling to electronic or spin degrees of freedom? How are the excitations of a spin liquid generated, and can they be detected or manipulated? At the heart of these questions is understanding the interplay of symmetry, correlations and topology.

This series of workshops brings together experts on quantum materials from both sides of the pacific ocean. The first two EPiQS-TMS alliance workshops took place in Moorea and Kyoto. We anticipate a lively program with about 30 speakers, a poster session, and synergy with related programs occurring at the KITP. Topical themes will include topological superconductors, topological magnetism and spintronics, Weyl and Dirac materials, 2d materials, and non-equilibrium phenomena.

List of Speakers / Organizers: 

From Japan:

Makoto Kohda (Tohoku Univ.)
Satoshi Fujimoto (Osaka Univ.)
Ryutaro Yoshimi (RIKEN)
Masahito Ueda (Univ. Tokyo)
Yuki Shiomi (Univ. Tokyo)
Joji Nasu (Yokohama Univ.)
Takeshi Mizushima (Osaka Univ.)
Norio Kawakami (Kyoto Univ.)
Taketomo Nakamura (Univ. Tokyo)
Atsushi Tsukazaki (Tohoku Univ.)
Koji Muraki (NTTBasic Research Laboratories)
Yoshiteru Maeno (Kyoto Univ.)
Toshimasa Fujisawa (Tokyo Univ. of Technology)
Yoichi Yanase (Kyoto Univ.)
Masatoshi Sato (Kyoto Univ.)
Takafumi Sato (Tohoku Univ.)
Kentaro Nomura (Tohoku Univ.)
YukioTanaka (Nagoya Univ.)
Yuki Nagai (Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
From North America: 

Philip Kim (Harvard University)
Margaret Murnane (University of Colorado)
Joel Moore (Berkeley)
Amir Yacoby (Harvard University)
Taylor Hughes (University of Illinois)
Hae-Young Kee (University of Toronto)
David Mandrus (University of Tennessee)
Vidya Madhavan (University of Illinois)
Katherine Ross (Colorado State University)
Subir Sachdev (Harvard University)
Liang Fu (MIT)
Nuh Gedik (MIT)
John Pierre Paglione (University of Maryland)