Topology, Symmetry and Interactions in Crystals: Emerging Concepts and Unifying Themes

Coordinators: Silke Buehler-Paschen, Taylor Hughes, Qimiao Si, and Senthil Todadri

Recent developments in several disparate areas make it a pressing and opportune time to confront the interplay between topology, symmetry and interactions. This conference will catalyze the discussion on this broad topic by highlighting a burst of recent advancements, both theoretical and experimental, along this direction. An important goal is to enhance cross-talk between the weakly and strongly correlated communities interested in topology that have not yet had adequate interactions with each other. The conference will bring participants up to speed in this rapidly growing field and sharpen the central questions that will be discussed in the remainder of the associated program. The conference will address questions such as:

  • What is the effect of correlations on non-interacting topological insulators, semimetals and superconductors?
  • How do symmetry and strong correlations cooperate and produce correlated topological phases in Kondo systems?
  • To what extent do Moire heterostructures reveal general principles for topology and interactions?
  • What is the connection between higher order topology and fracton systems? can it be exploited it to identify solid-state candidates?
  • Does topology provide a nonperturbative framework to understand strongly correlated gapless phases, such as strange metals?

In the process, the conference will explore and advance the unifying themes for electronic topology in disparate materials settings and across the spectrum of correlation strength.

PLEASE NOTE: We are no longer accepting poster submissions. For those presenting a poster, each poster board is 4 feet high x 6 feet wide. We ask that the posters be no larger than 44 inches high x 34 inches wide at the most (it is important to follow these measurements or posters may be turned down due to limited space).

Dai Aoki IMR Tohoku Univ.

Gabriel Aeppli ETH Zurich

Leon Balents UCSB

Andrei Bernevig Princeton

Xie Chen Caltech

Nick Bultinck Oxford

Rebecca Flint ISU

Sarah Grefe LANL

Hart Goldman MIT

Charlie Kane Univ. of Penn

Yong Back Kim Univ. of Toronto

Mike Hermele CU Boulder

Jenny Hoffman Harvard

Haoyu Hu Donostia IPC

Qiong Ma Boston College

N. Phuan Ong Princeton

Filip Ronning LANL

Giulia Semeghini Harvard

Jie Shan Cornell

Dam Thanh Son U Chicago

Xueyang Song MIT

Hidenori Takagi MPI-FKF

Nandini Trivedi Ohio State

Ashvin Vishwanath Harvard

Amir Yacoby Harvard

Linda Ye Stanford

Ming Yi Rice Univ.

Andrea Young UCSB

Chong Wang Perimeter Inst.

Diego Zocco TU Wien